Jeff Lemire’s The Nobody

Jeff Lemire has posted a mini-trailer for The Nobody on his blog.

I’m very much looking forward to this book. I really like what I’ve read so far of Lemire’s Essex County series, a slice-of-life trilogy set in a fictional Ontario community. Tales from the Farm is touching and sad. Ghost Stories is heartbreaking. If only more books resonated emotionally like Lemire’s work.

Based on the reports I’ve come across, The Nobody is a retelling of/inspired by the H.G. Wells classic  The Invisible Man.

For comic fans in Toronto, Comics N More is offering a limited edition print by Lemire and a signed copy of The Nobody if you pre-order the book. Not sure about the deadline for pre-ordering so check with the owner, Rob, for details. Contact info here.

The last time I was this excited about a book was Jonathan Lethem and Farel Dalrymple‘s revamp of Omega the Unknown. Dalrymple’s beautiful lines and hand-drawn panels give it an indie look. I also really love Gary Panter’s contribution. The story is solid for the most part. The book didn’t blow me away (I’ll have to re-read to figure out why), but I would definitely recommend it to friends.

I think with Omega and now The Nobody, I’m hoping for a reading experience along the lines of Unstable Molecules, which probably ranks in my top 10 if I had to make a list. Fingers crossed The Nobody is good and people buy it. I’d like to see Vertigo take more chances on projects like this.

Leave a comment

Filed under Toronto comic info

Leave a Reply

