Marvel’s big comic news: Captain America

Marvel has been beating the drums on Captain America #600 for weeks now, and the news is finally out. Steve Rogers – back from the dead?! Yawn.

Don’t get me wrong. I read the first 4 years of Ed Brubaker’s run on Captain America (42 issues to be precise) and loved nearly every page. And I was never a Cap fan growing up – didn’t like the character until Brubaker took over. So having not read the past few issues or #600 or the upcoming mini-series, I’m completely prepared to eat my words. Maybe it’s brilliant. I just don’t have high hopes for stories that resurrect “dead” characters. (Okay, Joss Whedon’s “return of Colossus” story in Astonishing X-Men was a little bit heartbreaking in a good way).

Moving on to other news, MTV2 is reviving old ’90s programs: Beavis & Butthead, Liquid Television clips Aeon Flux and The Maxx, plus more. But there is no mention of The Head, another series I enjoyed. My favourite of the bunch is Aeon Flux (the animated series, not the movie) but I couldn’t find a good clip to embed, so instead I offer you this promo for The Maxx, which itself is one messed up series.

1 Comment

Filed under Comic News

One response to “Marvel’s big comic news: Captain America

Leave a Reply

