Phil Noto does New Mutants the right way

Continuing the Phil Noto love.

As I was doing a bit of research for my previous post about The Infinite Horizon, I came across Noto’s Tumblr page and discovered this sweet piece of art. (I hope he doesn’t take exception to my publishing it here.)

Back in 1984, I didn’t really dig Bill Sienkiewicz’s work on New Mutants. But c’mon, I was barely in Grade 6, cut me some slack please.

Today, it’s the only run of classic New Mutants I’ve re-read in its entirety. (My apologies to every other talented artist who’s worked on the book.)

Noto’s work honours Sienkiewicz while modernizing the look. Impressive, yes?

Leave a comment

Filed under comic art

Leave a Reply

