Gail Simone confirms she will no longer write Batgirl

batgirl

Gail Simone confirms today that she has been taken off DC Comics’ Batgirl title. Rumours had been swirling for days following a report by Bleeding Cool on December 2 quoting sources familiar with the upcoming changes. Simone originally denied the report – that was a few days before she was officially notified by the title’s new editor as we find out from her Twitter feed.

Overwhelmed by emotion, she posts a very heartfelt message on her Tumblr blog:

So, while I am very sad right now and I won’t deny it, I have to say, I’m sure this sounds corny, but I feel very, very fortunate.

I have been lucky enough to live a dream that was too big for me to even think about as a child. I got to write  Batgirl. When I was just a little kid, she was the first superhero I’d ever seen. A redhaired smart girl who could kick ass?  It changed my life. And I grew up and got to write her. I wouldn’t be any happier if I’d won the lottery.

I still understand that not everyone was happy with the changes to her in the new52. But if it was going to happen, I wanted it to be done with honesty and care.  And we produced a book that was a critical and commercial success. Twice in the past year we got raves from the New York Times. We had many sell-out issues. In short, I am very, very proud of what we’ve done.

But the reason I feel fortunate right now is you guys. Here’s where the corn level goes nuclear.

You guys have NO IDEA, no CONCEPTION AT ALL, how much you mean to me. The support on Twitter in the past hour was almost more than I could take, I had to stop reading because I was getting too choked up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Comic News

Leave a Reply

