J.P. Leon’s covers – one more reason to pick up The Massive every month

massive8-darkhorse

I’m not sure I can describe exactly what it is about J.P. Leon‘s art that gets me so excited. I love the mood he sets. Everything is dark and ever person suspicious.

wintermen1-wildstormMy first recollection of seeing his name attached to the art credits for a book was probably in 2006. (I can’t believe it’s been that long.) I was scanning the racks for potentially good reads that I’d missed during my hiatus from reading comics, and one of the shops still had the first four or five issues of Wintermen sitting on the shelf. It took another couple of years before the last issue was published and I (along with other 8,000 or so people who has purchased issue #5) would be able to read the conclusion to this riveting story about a Russian super soldier program. Amazing stuff. Much better than Peter Milligan’s The Programme, which I say reluctantly because I am a fan of Milligan’s work usually.

Leon also did all that great work on the Brian Wood creation DMZ. And now Leon and Wood are back every month on The Massive.

If you’re unfamiliar with The Massive, in my mind this is sort of a replacement for the now-ended DMZ. Great cast of characters, and Wood’s displays mature storytelling skills. Here is a brief synopsis:

In a post-war, post-crash, post-disaster, post-everything world, the environmental-action trawler Kapital scours the earth’s oceans for its mysteriously missing sistership, The Massive. Captain Callum Israel, a man who has dedicated his life to the ocean, now must ask himself—as our planet dies—what it means to be an environmentalist after the world’s ended. Callum and his crew will come up against pirates, rebels, murderers, and thieves as they struggle to remain noble toward their cause. Can you save a planet that’s already doomed?

You can read a short interview with J.P. Leon on the Dark Horse comics blog.

I’ll just let his The Massive art speak for itself.

massive6-darkhorse

massive4-darkhorse

massive9-darkhorse

Leave a comment

Filed under comic art

Leave a Reply

