It’s Wednesday! (February 28, 2013)

HAWKEYE#8_COV

Sorry, I’m a couple of days late. Work. Deadlines. Kids. You know the drill… Is this sounding familiar?

This is a “slow” week in terms of total number of books (*relief!*) but proportionally stronger in terms of quality as a result. Prophet, The Massive, Comeback, FF, The Unwritten and The Manhattan Projects (this last one is a late arrival at my LCS due to a lost shipment.)

I could highlight each of those but there is one book I want to talk about: Hawkeye. This week, issue #8 hits shelves. Writer: Matt FractionArtist (most issues): David Aja

I realize I’m late to the game on this one. I purposely resisted the book even though my gut was telling me, month after month, that I’d like it. I finally broke down one Saturday afternoon (the same day I stumbled across Daredevil: End of Days, no less) and picked up the run. And, well, what can I say? If I had to choose only one book to read every month, this might very well be the one. The lesson: listen to your gut.

The book is hugely entertaining – cool groove, fun characters, wicked art, hilarious dialogue. After finishing each issue, I have the urge to reread the entire run. It’s that much fun.

I could go on to list seminal books by writers like Brubaker and Bendis and Snyder and Hickman and Lemire and more in whose company this book belongs. This is Fraction at the top of his game.

I not familiar enough with Aja’s body of work to know how this fits in, but this is damn fine art. And he seems like pretty cool guy who I’d want to have a beer with.

So that’s my endorsement. Do with it what you will.

#hawkguyisrocknroll

Check out these pages.

hawkeye-3-beetle(Hawkeye #3)

hawkeye_6_page1(Hawkeye #6)

Hawkeye-V4-5-Page-2

(Hawkeye #5 – not Aja)

hawkeye#1(Hawkeye #1) 

Leave a comment

Filed under Comic Previews

Leave a Reply

