It’s Wednesday! (March 13, 2013)

image_change4_cover

CHANGE #4 (of 4)
Story by: Ales KotArt By: Morgan Jeske & Sloane LeongCover By: Morgan Jeske & Jordie Bellaire

Everything drowns. Some patients can’t be saved.
What if the hardest thing you ever had to do was to look yourself in the eyes?
This is where it ends.

That’s a pretty heavy promo blurb.

I’ll be honest, it took a few attempts for me to get into this one. It was difficult to understand what was going on at first. It’s kind of like a Ted McKeever book in that way. After reading the first issue, I decided that I would need to read all four issues in one sitting – probably two or three times. So I’m looking forward to the weekend when the kids are asleep and I can crack this open.

GHOST #4 (of 4)
darkhorse_ghost4_coverWriter: Kelly Sue DeConnickArt and cover: Phil Noto

The champagne is poured and the chandeliers are hung for Chicago Mayor Bobby Chamber’s annual Black and White Ball—but Ghost, Vaughn, and Tommy are crashing the party, determined to stop the imposter before he claims another life and tears open a rift between two worlds!

* Kelly Sue DeConnick (Captain Marvel) brings the climactic in the final chapter of “In the Smoke and Din.”

I was hooked from the first few pages of issue #1, which I only picked up last Wednesday based on a random review I stumbled upon. I then quickly burned through issues 2 and 3 a few days ago. Luckily for me, the last chapter comes out today.

The script is solid and it seems…different. I can’t quite put my finger on what that quality is. Maybe it’s because the story is written by a woman, of which there aren’t that many writing comics. I don’t know. But Kelly Sue DeConnick has a really nice touch. The dialogue is sharp and the three main characters really pop. I also enjoy Phil Noto’s work, as I’ve mentioned previously.

I’m really curious to see how this story wraps.

STAR WARS #3
Writer: Brian WoodArtist: Carlos D’Anda

darkhorse_starwars3_cover

Princess Leia formed a secret squadron of stealth X-wings to help expose a spy within the Rebel ranks. But taking command puts her at odds with Luke Skywalker at a time they need solidarity more than ever—especially when the spy has alerted the Empire to Han Solo’s latest venture!

A Han and Chewwie story! Can’t wait. Those were some of my favourites back when Marvel was putting out the books in the 70s and 80s. These stories always seemed well-suited to the comics medium.

1 Comment

Filed under Comic Previews

One response to “It’s Wednesday! (March 13, 2013)

  1. That cover to Change blows me away.

    Like

Leave a Reply

