It’s Wednesday! (May 22, 2013)

image_nowhere-men-5_cover

Time is short this week, so let’s focus on four books: two new launches, a mini-series and a nifty ongoing.

NOWHERE MEN #5
Story by: Eric Stephenson, Art By: Nate Bellegarde & Jordie Bellaire, Cover By: Nate Bellegarde & Fonografiks

Dead to the world.

Wow, so that’s a rather bleak and bold solicitation. I really dig this book. I cannot wait to read this issue.

BOUNCE #1
Story by: Joe Casey, Art By: David Messina

image_thebounce-1_cover-short

FIRST ISSUE SPECTACULAR! 
Meet the ultimate slacker superhero for the 21st Century! Jasper Jenkins is a super-head AND a super-hero! He’s relatable AND reliable and he’s embarking on the adventure of a lifetime! The sensational debut of the new feel-good hero of the decade! You can’t afford to miss it!

Moving on to the new No. 1’s this week, we start with Joe Casey’s second new book on Image. (Sex #3 also comes out this week.) I expect people are going to compare it to Marvel’s Speedball from back in the day, not only for our protagonist’s power but the solicitation copy suggests Casey and Messina taking the story in that direction. But of course, Casey being who he is, it’s likely to veer into very un-Marvel like territory.

OCCUPY COMICS #1
Written by: Alan Moore & Various, Art by: David Lloyd & Various, Cover by: Mike Allred

OccupyComics-1_BlackMaskOccupy Comics brings together more than 50 comics pros to discuss and document the themes, goals, and ideals of the Occupy movement while also raising funds to support it. With a roster spanning from legends like Alan Moore & David Lloyd (V For Vendetta) to rising stars like Charlie Adlard (The Walking Dead) to icons like Art Spiegelman (Maus), Occupy Comics is a once-in-a-lifetime coalition of intelligent creatives using sequential art to record history as it’s being made.

This title may very well be the most talent-heavy anthology comic series to ever see the light of day, rivaled only perhaps by those Comic Book Legal Defense Fund annuals. As best as I can figure out, all the contributors volunteered their time and talent. It was originally released a year ago (here is a Wired article from the time) and it’s either being re-issued or it’s now going monthly. I expect I’ll find out when I crack open my copy – I’m sure there’ll be an editorial of sorts. (Oh, I just found an update on the Occupy Comics blog that sort of explains the book. It’s kinda long.)

FIVE GHOSTS OF FABIAN GRAY #3 (OF 5)
Story by: Frank J. Barbiere, Art By: Chris Mooneyham

image-fiveghosts3-cover“ENTER: THE FORGOTTEN CITY!”

In a fantastic valley…far from the eyes of man…Fabian Gray meets THE GUARDIAN OF DREAMS!

I try to reserve a verdict on a new series after reading 3 issues. But after what I thought was a bit of a lackluster first issue, Five Ghosts grabbed me with the second. The pacing, layouts and dialogue of No. 1 suggested to me this was a movie script that had been shopped around Hollywood and nobody was interested so the creators decided to turn it into a comic. No. 2 gave me hope that this was, indeed, going to be treated more like a comic book story.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Comic Previews

2 responses to “It’s Wednesday! (May 22, 2013)

  1. I’m so into Nowhere Men its not even funny. The art, the layouts, all the meticulous designs and in-story articles. I can’t wait to get to a point in the series when I can go back to these early faux magazine articles and say, “Oooooooh! They’ve planted thatmajor seed right here!”

    I read The Bounce when I went to the LCS yesterday. Butcher Baker was amazing so I hoped for more of that. What I read matches the solicitation you posted, but didn’t really captivate me in any way.

    Like

    • Comic Book Junkie

      The criticism of Casey I hear most often is that he’s hot and cold, people either love his books or can’t stand them. I enjoyed The Bounce more than Sex, which I just finished the 3rd issue. I hope the pace picks up before I lose interest completely. The editorial/letters page, Dirty Talk, is my favourite part of the book and the main reason I haven’t dropped it yet. I’ve been meaning to get my hands on The Milkman Murders, which I hear is interesting. Nixon’s Pals was a fun read.

      Nowhere Men is an interesting one. Eric Stephenson is nailing everything Hickman is trying to do with the two Avengers titles he’s writing at the moment, but it’s so much better, satisfying. I don’t know why I’m still reading those two Marvel books.

      Like

Leave a Reply

